a question to ponder everyday

How can we make the world a better place?

This is a question with many different answers although nothing we say ever seems to be profound or sensible enough to actually make a real, positive difference. But when you step back and consider how quickly our world has advanced in terms of communication and new technology, it appears that there still might be hope. The one thing missing that would reassure a better, improvable world is a stronger global community, specifically important are us as individuals.

The mentality that “I am one person, what can I do?” has plagued us because it is realistic. In this day and age, people think about things on a rational level because any other thought process normally seems naive or illogical. The idea that one person can change the minds of billions does sound like a fairytale, however think outside the box for a minute. What separates society today from society fifty years ago? Technology! Technology provides us with much greater communicational abilities than we’ve ever had before. Nowadays, society exists on two platforms, the physical world and the online world. The online world offers more capabilities in terms of community building and empowerment than the physical world because conversation takes place at a much faster rate.

With our technology, it is now time to do our part, to build a stronger global community, not based on the daunting idea of it but on our own desire to do good. Helen Keller had said once, “I am only one, but still I am one; I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and just because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.” This mentality is what separates winners from losers, optimists from pessimists, the believers from the doubters. Just because the majority of people think something is impossible doesn’t make it so. It doesn’t give anyone a reason to not try or give up.

Even though we can’t possibly do everything to improve the world on our own, we can still do something. This is why I decided to create this blog. My purpose is to convert the rational pessimist into a faithful optimist. If I can encourage you to join me, to think of anything that you can do, I can do, or we can do together to make this world a better place to live, than we will be one step closer to living in a better world. All it takes to strengthen our global community is our individual effort. If we all do our part on our own, than we are collectively improving this world.

To get you into the right mindset, please read this article. It provides some excellent ideas and suggestions for a better world that may really help you realize your true potential.

Cheers :)
Tom

Leave a comment